Haskett Store

Haskett  Store
(100+  year old building) 

PTM Haskett Store 800x600

The Haskett Store shares over a century of diverse history!

 

The 100+ year old Haskett Store is a fond memory in many peoples' past. From its early beginnings as various stores to it ultimately becoming a home, it has touched peoples' lives over the last century.

 

Through all the changes though, it remains a long-standing icon in the community that offers a glimpse into a past that's remembered by many.

 

The store now sits beautifully restored at the Pembina Threshermen's Museum (PTM) for the remainder of time, in a picturesque 'Haskett corner' as it's referred to (with the stately elevator from the same town towering close by), where people from around the world can learn about Haskett, enjoy all the store still has to offer and admire it ~ the way it so rightly deserves!

 

Information can be found in the manuscript "A History of Haskett", which was written in 1952 by former Haskett teacher Peter Dyck and in 2007, more details were added and made into a book called: "Haskett Centennial History" by Peter Letkeman.

 

  • Haskett is a community 2 km north of the USA border, about 10 miles (16 km) south and 2 miles (3 km) west of Winkler.
  • In 1907, Haskett was established  by a Mr. Haskett from Iowa USA.
  • In 1908, a building was moved to Haskett from Winkler and became the Haskett General Store and the first proprietor was Peter M. Elias, son of Gerhard A. Elias.
  • The town's first Post Office was originally in this store but after 2 years, it was moved to a store operated in a different building by William M. Elias.  It later came back, however, to the Haskett Store.
  • Over the years the store was owned by various people and was called different names depending on who owned or operated it. It has been known as:  the Elias' Store, Letkeman's Store, Sawatzky's Store, Janzen's Store, Reimer's Store and Friesen's Store.
  • Nevertheless, it was a General Store that offered basic groceries, hardware, cloth, some clothing at times and snacks. It was also a meeting place where people picked up the mail, visited and children went there to wait to be picked up after school. It served an area much bigger than the Haskett area itself, with people coming from surrounding villages and communities to the west, in the Pembina Hills.
  • In 1970 the store closed and from 1972 to 1974 it was used as a residence for the William and Margaret Siemens family. John and Dora Eberhardt and family then moved there in 1975 and by 2009 Dora Eberhardt was the only person left living there.
  • In the spring of 2012, the former store was moved to the Pembina Threshermen's Museum (PTM) grounds and restoration began.
  • The store opened in the summer of 2013 and finer antique collectibles remain on display to this day.

The Haskett store may not be a "designated heritage building" according to the government files, but you can be sure based on its age and history ... that it is a true heritage building to many visitors and locals nevertheless!

 

~ Preserving the Gems of the Past ... for Those of the Future! ~

 

Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!
 
NEW brochure
(with updated map & rates)
coming later in 2016! 
 
brochuresev

HOME       EVENTS       VOLUNTEERING         RENTALS/MEALS        ANTIQUES      KIDS/GAMES     WHAT'S NEW